Advertisements

May 2014 #CollabTalk TweetJam On Hybrid SharePoint


Reposted from: http://www.buckleyplanet.com/2014/05/may-2014-collabtalk-tweetjam-on-hybrid-sharepoint.html

As organizations look to the future of their existing SharePoint environments, questions about hybrid deployments come up again and again. For this month’s #CollabTalk tweetjam, scheduled for May 29th at 9am Pacific / 12pm Eastern we have an all-start panel of experts who will be tackling this topic, CollabTalk May 2014answering questions, and sharing their real-life experiences. Our theme will be “What It Takes to Get Hybrid SharePoint Right,” and we want your questions and feedback during this one-hour online event.

As organizations begin to seriously consider the future of their existing SharePoint infrastructure, some are moving directly to the cloud and Office365, while others are looking to extend their infrastructure investments, protect sensitive data, and/or maintain the level of control they have over line of business (LOB) integrations and other customizations. The long-and-short of it is that hybrid SharePoint deployments will be around for some time, and Microsoft will continue to support on premises deployments for the foreseeable future. In this month’s tweetjam panel, we’ll talk about the business reasoning behind the decisions to go hybrid, while also shedding some light on the roadblocks and realities of keeping one foot on prem and the other foot in the cloud.

If you’re new to the tweetjam model, basically its an hour-long public conversation held on Twitter and using a shared hash tag, which is #CollabTalk. You can use your Twitter platform of choice OR go over to http://twubs.com/CollabTalk which automatically appends each message with #CollabTalk, and has a nice feature that allows followers to actually slow the dialog down to a readable speed (it can fly by fairly quickly). The questions we will be discussing are listed below:

"What It Takes to Get Hybrid SharePoint Right"

  • As companies transition toward the cloud, how important will hybrid become?
  • What are the most common hybrid SharePoint scenarios?
  • How much of hybrid SharePoint is platform versus services?
  • Is a hybrid search deployment difficult, and if so, what are the pain points?
  • What are the top 3 road blocks for adopting a hybrid SharePoint model?
  • What features/solutions should Microsoft focus on to improve hybrid deployments?
  • What advice would you give to an admin considering a hybrid SharePoint environment?

As always, we will have an extensive all-star panel of experts on hand to participate in the conversation and to interact with you directly – but anyone can jump in and participate. So don’t be shy — share your own perspective and company or customer experiences, or just lurk. It’s all good. But be sure to mark your calendars, tell your colleagues, and get involved!

Our panel this month will include:

  • Dave Coleman (@dcoleman146), SharePoint MVP and director at SharePointEduTech
  • Ben Curry (@curryben), SharePoint MVP, principal architect and managing partner at Summit 7 Systems
  • Bradley Geldenhuys (@bradgcoza), SharePoint Jedi at GTConsult
  • Asif Rehmani (@asifrehmani), consultant, trainer and SharePoint MVP at SharePoint-Videos
  • Tamir Orbach (@tamirorbach), director of product management at Metalogix
  • Naomi Moneypenny (@nmoneypenny), cto at ManyWorlds
  • Dan Holme (@danholme), SharePoint MVP, evangelist, and co-founder of ITUnity
  • Jeffrey Schwartz (@jeffreyschwartz), editor of Redmond Magazine and editor-at-large for Redmond Channel Partner magazine
  • Edin Kapic (@ekapic), SharePoint MVP and architect at Spenta
  • Adis Jugo (@adisjugo), SharePoint MVP, Top 25 SharePoint Influencer 😛 and head of development at deroso Solutions
  • Dan Usher (@binarybrewery), SharePoint MVP, implementation engineer and architect at Booz Allen Hamilton
  • Kanwal Khipple (@kkhipple), SharePoint MVP and director of digital strategy at Envision IT
  • Hans Brender (@hansbrender), SharePoint MVP and ceo of sqtm PSC GmbH
  • Robert Bogue (@robbogue), SharePoint MVP, author and consultant
  • Juan Carlos Gonzalez Martin (@jcgm1978), SharePoint MVP, co-director of the magazine CompartiMOSS, consultant and solution architect at LKS
  • Ivan Sanders (@iasanders), SharePoint MVP, developer and consultant
  • Adam Preston (@_apreston), manager of collaboration and cloud services at TCSC, and president of the Richmond SharePoint Users Group
  • Jason Ruthkoski (@jasonruthkoski), team lead, portals and collaboration at Slalom Consulting
  • Eric Riz (@rizinsights), evp at Concatenate and SharePoint MVP
  • Jeff Fried (@jefffried), cto and vp of engineering at BA Insight
  • Jennifer Mason (@jennifermason), SharePoint MVP and consultant at Rackspace
  • Geoff Varosky (@gvaro), managing consultant at Jornata, president of Boston Area SharePoint Group, and co-founder of Boston Office365 User Group
  • Fabian Williams (@fabianwilliams), SharePoint MVP and senior consultant at Planet Technologies
  • Michael Herman (@mwherman2000), principal architect at Parallelspace
  • Laura Rogers (@wonderlaura),  SharePoint MVP and consultant at Rackspace
  • Jared Shockley (@jshoq), senior systems engineer at Microsoft
  • Alistair Pugin (@alistairpugin), SharePoint MVP and independent consultant
  • Chris Beckett (@teknirvana), founder of obeflow and SharePoint MCM
  • Richard Harbridge (@rharbridge), partner technology advisor and strategist at Microsoft
  • Paul Swider (@pswider), cto at RealActivity and enterprise SharePoint strategist
  • Todd Klindt (@toddklindt), SharePoint MVP and consultant at Rackspace
  • Thomas Carpe (@thomascarpe), principal SharePoint architect at Liquid Mercury Solutions
  • Robert Toro (@SharePointToro), SharePoint practice director at Slalom
  • Warren Marks (@MarksWazza), director at GTconsult
  • and myself as your host and moderator (@buckleyplanet), SharePoint MVP and chief evangelist at Metalogix

I am excited to once again have a lively debate, and look forward to the interaction on #CollabTalk. My plan is to provide a summary of the discussion on the ITUnity.com site within the next few days, so watch for an update via my Twitter, Facebook and LinkedIn updates. See you online this Thursday at Twubs.com/CollabTalk

Advertisements

About Geoff Varosky
Geoff Varosky is a Senior Architect for BlueMetal Architects, based out of Watertown, MA. He has been architecting and developing web based applications his entire career, and has been working with SharePoint for the past 13 years. Geoff is an active member of the SharePoint community, Co-Founder and Co-Organizer of the Boston Area SharePoint Users Group, co-founder for the Boston Office 365 Users Group, co-organizer for SharePoint Saturday Boston and speaks regularly at SharePoint events and user groups.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: